This content is for registered users only. Sign in for full access.

You Could Be One of the First Obama Fellows!

They may not be the first couple of America anymore but Michelle and Barack Obama still hold a lot of global influence.

Committed to furthering global diplomacy through leadership the couple of started the Leaders Africa Program. The inaugural program will see African leaders engaged in "robust online activities" throughout the year. There will be a big convention in Johannesburg, South Africa from 14 July and will end on 18 July.

Barack Obama 1
Credit: Instagram

"The Obama Foundation seeks to identify a group of emerging African leaders from all sectors who have demonstrated a commitment to advancing the common good. The objective of the program is to build a growing network of innovative and ethical changemakers, who seek to drive positive change in their communities."

The successful candidates have to have demonstrated potential for impact, a clear commitment to stay engaged with the Obama Foundation throughout the year and beyond. 

"We are interested in talented individuals who are on the right trajectory at earlier stages of their journey, as well as those who have already attained success."

Those interested in participating should be  

  • a citizen of an African country
  •  fluent in English 
  • between the ages of 24 and 40 
  • available to travel to Johannesburg from 14-18 July 201
  • critically minded with a track record of impact
  • clear commitment to integrity
  • committed to stay engaged with the Obama Foundation throughout the year and beyond
  • inclined to positively transform the future of Africa or their community

Applications should be submitted via the link below, no later than 6:00 PM ET (11:00 PM GMT or 01:00 AM CAT) on March 25, 2018. We will notify applicants of their status via email on a rolling basis beginning on April 27, 2018.

This content is for registered users.

Sign in